Journal of a Geek

Yahoo! Pipes

with one comment

I saw there was a lot of buzz going around about Yahoo Pipes, so I decided to check it out tonight. It looks like really cool idea so far. Basically it let’s you perform database type actions on sets of XML feeds. It also let’s you take user input to change parameters on the queries.

The first pipe I made was a good example. I took user input from the text input control and fed it into the Flickr control. Then sent that to the output control. What I got was a page that displayed Flickr search results for that search that I let users enter.

Flickr Search Pipe Layout (image)

As you can see from the layout view in the picture, the pipes are configured using a visual interface. Controls are dropped onto the main area then their output is connected to the input of another control. This is really similar to Apple’s Quartz Composer if you have seen it.

The pipes interface comes with several data sources that are easy to use, but for more advanced users there is a URL builder so that you can create URL’s for more customized RSS feeds. I made a more complex pipe which involves returning the top X articles from Digg and Reddit for a certain key term. The layout is kind of crazy, so I will just provide the link for this one. If you login using a Yahoo account you can view the layout for any of the pipes that have been created so far and you can also build your own pipes.

I would like to see what Yahoo does with Pipes as it gets further developed. So far I think it’s a great idea and can’t wait to see what people can do with it.

Written by Ryan Farnell

February 15, 2007 at 2:11 am

Posted in Web 2.0

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My brain gets ahead of my fingers and sometimes I leave out words. Isn’t that a charming quirk? Just fill in any missing word that you choose. Click http://d2.ae/hool090630

    cherylblake81634

    April 8, 2016 at 5:41 pm


Leave a Reply

