Journal of a Geek

Macbook Review

with 5 comments

I finally got my Macbook in yesterday. I think it’s time for a review.

First Impressions

My first impressions were that it was very light and compact. I had a 12″ Powerbook before that, so for it to be lighter and thinner than that was amazing.

The Screen

My first impression of the screen was that it was smaller than I expected. I had not seen one in person so I wasn’t sure what it would look like. The lack of height is definitely made up for by the extra width. The gloss film on the screen looks great. It’s not super glary like on some PC’s. It really makes all the colors pop and the screen seem brighter overall.

Parallels

The first task I went about doing on my Macbook was setting up Parallels and Visual Studio just as I did with the iMac in my earlier post. I found it to be noticeable slower, but not unbearable. It’s still 100x better than Virtual PC, and if it really gets to be a problem I can use Boot Camp. I think the main difference has to do with hard drive speed instead of processor speed difference. The Macbook uses a slower spinning hard drive than the iMac’s do.

World of Warcraft

I didn’t buy my Macbook for gaming. I know it’s video card isn’t exactly a power house, but I figured I would give it a try. With all the graphical settings set to low and resolution set to 1280×800 (the Macbook’s native resolution), I got about 25 fps in cities and 15 fps out in fields. Overall I was pleased with the Macbook’s performance.

Video Compression

To test the processor performance on the Macbook, I decided to use HandBrake as a test. Handbrake is a program that let’s you pull titles and chapters off of DVD’s and compress them into either Quicktime formats or AVI formats. On my iMac I it compresses about 20 frames per second on average. On the Macbook I got 60 frames per second! That is really a huge difference.

iMac Specs: 2.1Ghz G5, Radeon x600 XT, 1GB of RAM

Macbook Specs: 1.83Ghz Core Duo, Intel integrated video, 1GB of RAM

Technorati Tags: , ,

Written by Ryan Farnell

August 1, 2006 at 4:29 pm

Posted in Apple

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice review
    im thinking of getting a macbook
    it sounds like an almost perfect computer for me
    im not much of a gamer so i dont need a powerful graphics card.

    turtleman8089

    August 2, 2006 at 12:43 am

  2. I am considering to buy a MacBook. Yet, I am still worried abouth those heating matters reported.
    Is the graphic performance good enough for photo and amateur video editing??
    Problems with heat?

    Rafael

    August 6, 2006 at 6:54 am

  3. I have had no heat issues with my Macbook so far. It does get hot on the bottom, but no worse than any laptop I have used. The graphics card does support core image and video, so all that editing shouldn’t be a problem.

    Ryan Farnell

    August 6, 2006 at 7:46 pm

  4. Nice post… Looks like solid-state memory is really starting to take off. Hopefully we’ll start seeing a drop in solid state harddisk prices real soon. Five dollar 32 GB Micro SDs for your Nintendo DS flash card… imagine that!(Submitted from 6Post for R4i Nintendo DS.)

    bandsxbands

    March 3, 2010 at 2:21 am

  5. “Macbook Review | Journal of a Geek” Blinds And Shades was in fact genuinely entertaining and insightful!
    Within todays universe honestly, that is difficult to deliver.

    I am grateful, Oma

    Dorthea

    March 25, 2013 at 11:48 pm


Leave a Reply

