Journal of a Geek

Meetro OS X [Updated]

with 2 comments

Meetro is a new type of instant messenger (as if we need more), that combines the idea of instant messaging with social networks (MySpace, facebook, etc.). The idea is pretty cool because on the Windows client currently it handles all the major messaging services, and let’s you browse the Meetro social network. The OS X beta client came out (could be alpha, dont quote me on that) recently. I thought I would give a go and review it. The sign up and install were pretty easy. It just ask you for a desired user name, password, and your email address. The profile portion for the social network has a MySpace importer to make creating your profile easy. The client has a interesting way to display the people on the network. It shows whatever picture you upload as buddy icon, then groups the people by distance from your location. Everything seemed well, and it stayed online for a few hours, then suddenly i began to get intermittent service. I could sign on for about 10 minutes, then I would have to wait another 10 to get back on. At the time that I’m writing this, I can’t get on at all. I’m not sure if this is just a problem with the OS X client, but it seems difficult to test the software if someone cannot get on. I checked the help portion of their website, but found not information on what the problem could be. So in short Meetro seems like a good idea, but let’s see if they can make it a bit more stable.

Update: It seems Meetro is having trouble keeping up with the demand of users logging in. I can’t fault them for having a lot of business, so I’ll do another review once everything calms down. Thanks for the info Dan.

technorati tags:

Blogged with Flock

Written by Ryan Farnell

June 15, 2006 at 12:38 pm

Posted in Web 2.0

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was able to log in and talked to some of the developers. They said they are simply being hit really hard with thousands of people trying to log in at one time. They’re working on getting some more servers up to stabilize it.

    Dan

    June 15, 2006 at 1:14 pm

  2. This software sounds rather interesting. I notice that the last update or comment was a few weeks ago. Any new information about whether or not their servers are more stable now? I will probably download and give this a try when I get home anyway though. My only concern is whether or not this software will work with the latest Windows Vista Beta 2 release. If I get a chance, I will post another comment later about my success/failure in case anyone else happens to be interested.

    Jim

    July 5, 2006 at 11:20 am


Leave a Reply

